Peter Raven Award

  • 0

Peter Raven Award

Call for Nominations for 2013

The Peter Raven Award is given by the American Society of Plant Taxonomists to a plant systematist who has made exceptional efforts at outreach to non-scientists.  Examples of outreach may include, but are not limited to 1) workshops or seminars for K--12 teachers, local horticultural societies, garden clubs, and schools or businesses; 2) special events for the general public (e.g., nature hikes, wildflower workshops); 3) newspaper columns or op-ed articles; 4) freelance articles in newspapers, on the worldwide web, and in horticultural or popular science magazines; 5) taxon-oriented websites or books that are aimed at a lay audience; 6) TV spots; 7) legislative testimony; and 8) legal defense of rare or endangered plant species.  The award is intended to be international in scope.  All persons, from any country, who have made significant contributions in this area, may be considered.  The first recipient of the award was Peter Raven in August 2000, followed by Richard C. Harris (2001), Charles Heiser (2002), Frederick W. Case (2003), David J. Mabberley (2004), Alan W. Meerow (2005), Art Kruckeberg (2006), John T. Mickel (2007), W. Hardy Eshbaugh (2008), Sandra Knapp (2009), Barney Lipscomb (2010), and Robbin C. Moran (2011).

ASPT members are encouraged to submit nominations for the 2013 Peter Raven Award, which will be presented at the annual meeting in New Orleans.  The nomination materials should that include a letter of nomination, a fairly complete curriculum vitae for the nominee (emphasizing the outreach areas), and three or more supporting letters from others familiar with the nominee and his or her career should be submitted as pdf files.

All nomination materials should be submitted electronically as pdf files to Deadline for receipt of all materials is February 18, 2013.

Further questions should be addressed to:

Andrea Weeks
Chair ASPT Awards & Honors Committee
George Mason University
Fairfax, Virginia 22030, USA 
Tel: 703-993-3488


Tags: Annual
Share |